Tealmermaid Designs

web design, coding, and SEO tips and tricks

Mac to Mac migration

migrate from an old Mac to a new one
If you are migrating your data to a new Mac, you have been through this simple process before to know that it is the easiest data migration you can do. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the ride.

Begin by creating a backup as usual. If something goes wrong with the migration, you will want to have the option to migrate a clean backup to your new Mac.

Sign out of iTunes, iCloud, and iMessage.

Take a moment to install all needed software updates to both Macs.

If your old Mac does not yet have a name, type a name in via System Preferences > Sharing > Computer Name.

Plug in any laptops to AC power at this time in case this process takes longer than expected.

Make sure both Mac devices are connected to the same WiFi network or physically tethered via USB cable.

Follow the onscreen instructions for the Setup Assistant.

Migrate your data

On the older Mac, open Utilities > Migration Assistant.

Select your old system, then click Continue.

If you see a security code, be sure it's the same code on both Macs. If you're good, click Continue on the older Mac.

Deselect any files and/or accounts you are not migrating. Click Continue. Migration Assistant will handle all the file transfers for you.

When it is done, sign in on your new Mac. Log into your user account on your new Mac, choosing a strong password if you are prompted to change it. You will also need to authorize your new Mac with iTunes.

Something went wrong! Now what?

restore Mac from Time Machine backup
In the event of a migration issue, your data can be restored from a Time Machine backup. If your Mac needs to be fully restored from a Time Machine backup, this restoration process is not as bad as it could be provided you have a good backup available. This can be done by a process called macOS Recovery.

How to access macOS Recovery

Restart your Mac. Immediately hold down Control-R as the Recovery Key combination. Continue holding until an Apple logo or spinning globe appear.

The Startup process is complete when the Utilities window appears. You will see several options. Select Restore From Time Machine Backup, then click Continue. This allows you to restore your Mac from any backup available in Time Machine. Choose which version you desire, then proceed. Follow any further directions given (if any).

When you are finished, you can close macOS Recovery if necessary by selecting either Restart or Shut Down from the  menu (top left corner).

I don't have an emergency backup. Now what?

time machine

You can and should set your Time Machine to back up automatically every hour. This will give you an hourly backup for the most recent 24 hours, daily backups for the last month, and weekly backups for the last month. Backups will be deleted automatically beginning with the oldest existing backup once your backup drive becomes full.

 
time machine

You can also take a backup of your Mac via Time Machine at any time. Select the Time Machine icon (the little clock) from your dock, then Back Up Now from the menu. This will start your new backup.


The Mermaid's Grotto
Advertisement